Form:Media has been working on regional tourism wayfinding in Ontario since at least 2011, beginning with Bruce County. Our work developing set of tourism signs for Bruce led to a system that eventually would be used throughout Regional Tourism Organization (RTO) 7, including Bruce, Simcoe, and Grey Counties. Today, over 900 signs have been installed in RTO7 based on the guidelines we developed, by at least twelve participating municipalities, including Blue Mountain, Collingwood, and Innisfil.

The signs are simple, with white text presented on a blue background, currently standard for tourism wayfinding signs in Ontario and much of Canada. The signs balance consistency with a local look-and-feel: several sign type feature space that a participating community may customize with its own branding. Our projects for RTO7 since 2011 have included comprehensive sign programming and strategic planning for various communities under the RTO7 guidelines, updating of the system for accessibility (per the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act), and designing new sign types such as pay-to-play tourism directionals and active transportation trail signs.

Years of work for RTO7 led to work in other regions in Ontario, Middlesex County (RTO1), Peterborough County (RTO8), and most recently Huron County (RTO4). Our work has taken municipalities through the whole life cycle of sign planning: from initial strategic planning, through sign system design, to sign programming and phased implementation plans.






    Regional Tourism Organization 7, Peterborough & The Kawarthas Economica Development, Middlesex County, Huron County